refelction, relationship with God

Work or Ministry or Call?

Working in a christian environment does not make me any saint. Are there times that I work as if I am working in the secular environment? YES! There will be things or emails or even decisions of the organisation that makes me rethink about my purpose in the organisation. I had been in the organisation for almost 13 years in a month time. What did I do here and willing to stay for good 13 years? As I recall I came into the organisation as I felt I do not have pastoral call. I am better at administration so I took up the offer as there was a need. I was still in a ministry program when I took up the work offer. It was really challenging but by the grace of God I pulled through.

My work become my ministry where I could serve God and get a proper salary through it. As time goes by, I get wavered for what the things that I do. Today, I really know that what I did was to fill in a need in the ministry. My whole life have been filling in the need. I remember my campus days, I stayed after graduation to serve in campus because that was a need. After that I felt the need to move on, I moved to served in the opposite area of where I stayed. After each Friday’s ministry, I moved from one end of Singapore to the other end. In my 2nd vocation, I was filling a need when the staff resigned and I moved in to fill the gap. There is no wrong in filling the need and I feel perfectly alright with it. Because I knew God lead me to.

Work, ministry or call? Most importantly, I know God is in it and I will walk in it. With God, I can do it because he will not allow me to do things beyond my capability as He is my very source of strength and provider.

Leave a comment